Thursday, April 30, 2015

Welcome Dr. Bethany Moore to our Associate Editor team

Dear members of the lung community:

We are delighted to announce the appointment of Dr. Bethany Moore as Associate Editor of the American Journal of Physiology-Lung Cellular and Molecular Physiology, effective July 1st. 

Bethany B. Moore graduated from the University of Texas at Austin with a degree in Microbiology in 1986.  She completed her Ph.D. in Immunology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in 1992.  She did post-doctoral training at U.T. Southwestern and Stanford in the field of molecular immunology before joining the faculty at the University of Michigan in 1997. She rose through the ranks and currently holds the position of full professor with tenure in the Departments of Internal Medicine and Microbiology and Immunology.  Dr. Moore’s research has focused on two main areas.  The first is the pathogenesis of pulmonary fibrosis and the second is in infectious complications in the lung following stem cell transplantation.  In her pulmonary fibrosis work, Dr. Moore has made contributions to our understanding of chemokine and eicosanoid regulation of the disease pathogenesis with a particular focus on alveolar-epithelial cell interactions and fibrocytes.  She has also studied how herpesviral infections, aging and matricellular proteins impact fibrotic disease outcomes.  Her work in these areas involves animal modeling as well as translational projects.  Her work in the area of stem cell transplantation has focused on alterations in innate immune cell function which increase susceptibility to bacterial infections and on alterations to adaptive immunity which impair host defense against viral pathogens.  She has demonstrated a major role for prostaglandin E2 as an inhibitor of alveolar macrophage and neutrophil function post-transplant and is currently working to understand how effector T cell responses are skewed from protective Th1 to pathogenic Th17 responses leading to pneumonitis and fibrosis following herpesviral infection in transplant recipients.  She was the recipient of the Recognition Award for Scientific Accomplishment from the American Thoracic Society in 2014.  In addition to her research efforts, she directs the Graduate Program in Immunology at the University of Michigan. 

No comments:

Post a Comment