Thursday, November 19, 2015

The Hermann Rahn Award for Excellence in Pulmonary Research

Dr. Sadis Matalon, Editor-in-Chief of the American Journal of Physiology-Lung Cellular and Molecular Physiology, is soliciting nominations for the 2015 Hermann Rahn Awards, in honor of the 36th APS President (1963-1964), a leader in the field of respiration physiology. The nominees must be either first or senior author in a paper published in the American Journal of Physiology-Lung Cellular and Molecular Physiology since 2012 and must have been  a trainee (graduate student or post-doctoral fellow), or junior faculty (Instructor or Assistant Professor) when the paper was submitted.  Criteria for selection include the importance of the work to the field, the contribution of the nominee to this project and his trajectory as a research scientist. Please submit nominations by December 1, 2015, to Dr. Sadis Matalon, ( with a copy to Ms. McEver (  The three winners will receive $250 each and a certificate of appreciation at the EB 2016 meeting.